I’ll Have Another Too Perfect

Jockey Mario Gutierrez rode a perfect race aboard I’ll Have Another in the Kentucky Derby. Coming out of the number 19 starting gate, Gutierrez kept his steed comfortably outside, just enough to avoid traffic. Nobody got in the way while I’ll Have Another “stalked” Bodemeister, who led the entire field from his opening jump. I’ll Have Another caught Bodemeister with about 30 yards to go and passed him with 20 yards left. Gutierrez, 25, riding in his first Derby, had perfect timing.

It was once in a lifetime perfect. That’s why I’ll say right now somebody else will win the Preakness on May 19. I’ll Have Another will not have another Triple Crown triumph. The Preakness is 110 yards shorter than the Run for the Roses. Maybe Bodemeister will be able to hold on to the lead over the shorter distance. Maybe Union Rags will not get boxed in along the rail two weeks from now, as he was in the Derby.

Kudos to Gutierrez. He has a talent.

That’s all for now. I wanted to say this while it was on my mind.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I’ll Have Another Too Perfect

  1. Barry Goodrich says:

    Dullahan (third in the Derby) wins the Preakness…unless they save him for the Belmont.

Leave a Reply

