Burning up the Chili

Nothing better than a book-signing to see old friends and make new acquaintances. Then there was my experience Saturday at the Barnes and Noble bookstore in Crocker Park, Westlake.

    Ask the Rocky River police about it.

    As I entered the bookstore, a lightning bolt flashed into my brain. I had left a pot of chili cooking on the stove at home. Nobody was home. Maddy was out shopping, also at Crocker Park. My children are grown with homes of their own. I could not raise neighbors, many of whom were out shopping or out of town at football games. People already had arrived at Barnes and Noble to buy my book, “Pass the Nuts.” I couldn’t leave.

    I already tipped you off as to my next move. Yes, I dialed up the police in my hometown of Rocky River. The dispatcher must have thought I had a lot of nerve, asking them to send a cruiser over to my house to turn off the stove. What choice did I have? Wait until it was necessary to call the fire department? In that case, the police would have to show up anyway to control traffic. Within ten minutes a cruiser was in my driveway and the chili was saved, along with the rest of the house.

    I look at it this way. The police did not respond to a nuisance call. They prevented a house fire. I’m going to drop off a book to police headquarters to explain how it all started.

    Tuesday night I’ll sign books at the Learned Owl bookstore in Hudson. I’ll do no cooking that day.

    *    *    *

    To other matters, the Browns should have given a game ball to Jacksonville wide receiver Jason Hill, who dropped a touchdown pass in the end zone on the second-last play of the game. The ball hit him right in the stomach. Browns cornerback Joe Haden claimed he slapped Hill’s hands to knock the ball loose. Maybe he did, but not what I saw on TV replays.

    That’s all for today. Stay tuned for updates.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

