Dan’s Back in Action

Here’s the plan. I’m going to double your pleasure with parallel blogs. Here’s the new one, coughlinforever. The old blog, coughlinunplugged, also should be out there in cyberspace. I admit I neglected the old one, but there were mitigating circumstances. I was busy promoting the book. I never realized the work involved in promoting a book. I was under this impression: you write a book, you send it to the publisher and you wait for the check to arrive in the mail. That’s probably how John Grisham does it. Don’t confuse me with him.

Now I’m working on Volume II, but I’ll find time to comment more frequently on current events along with what my kids are doing, what my neighbors are doing and what my drinking buddies are doing.

We’ve got a wedding this summer, July 9th. My son John is getting married to the girl next door, Hallie Spooner. I mean, literally, the girl next door. They lived next door to each other for 20 years and generally ignored each other. Who knew?

I’ll be back on Friday night football on Fox 8 in the fall. Don’t know about the Rizz. We’ll definitely have John Telich, Dan Jovic and me from last season along with a bright newcomer, Allie LaForce. She’ll graduate from Ohio U. this spring and join the Fox 8 sports department. She did some fill-in work at Fox 8 last summer. She’s a knockout blonde who knows her sports. She was an all-state basketball guard at Vermilion High School and was crowned Miss Teenage America. That wasn’t a county or state title. It was the entire country. Don’t know how long we’ll be able to keep her. She’ll be on one of the networks soon. She’s the next Alex Flanagan.

Recently I spoke to a group of about 30 retired FBI agents at the Holiday Inn in Independence. Great guys, even though they shut down one of my favorite restaurants in the late 1980’s. They burst through the front door of the Blue Fox restaurant in Lakewood the day after the Super Bowl and caught bartender Marty Rini before he could destroy the betting slips. Many years before that it was where I took my wife to dinner on our first date. Sadly, it’s now a drugstore. At lunch yesterday I sat next to the agent who led the raid. He has since retired and gone straight.

Look at all the great restaurants favored by gamblers and bookies — the Theatrical downtown on Vincent and the Bluegrass on Northfield Road near Thistledown Racetrack come to mind — all closed. Those were great spots, great food and great characters.

That’s all for now. Stay tuned for updates.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dan’s Back in Action

  1. Jane Lassar says:

    Hey Dan! Look forward to reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

